ADA – The Americans with Disabilities Act

Table of Contents

What is the ADA? #

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), which was passed in 1990, is a hugely important piece of legislation that protects people with disabilities throughout public life. Essentially, the law is in place to ensure that people with disabilities can receive the same opportunities as someone without a disability. This applies for some of the public sector and private sector too.

Within the ADA, five specific sections clarify where the law applies:

  1. Title I – Employment
  2. Title II – Public Services: State and Local Government
  3. Title III – Public Accommodations and Services Operated by Private Entities
  4. Title IV – Telecommunications
  5. Title V – Miscellaneous Provisions

WCAG 2.1 AA is the ADA’s core guidelines for website accessibility and online content. Many point to Title III and classify most websites as “places of public accommodation.” For the most part, the internet is a public resource and impacts public life. The ADA can be enforced by law. As the ADA prevents discrimination based on ability, websites that discriminate against members of the public who need accommodations may be in violation of federal ADA laws.